The Differences of Tomb Sweeping Practices for Newer vs Older Graves

骨灰阁


The ancients believed that the best time to sweep the tombs during the Qingming Festival was at dawn, which is convertible to the present time from 5am to 7am. It is because the sun rises at dawn, and the ancient military had to "do head counts" (Dian Mao) every day at dawn, thus the ancients believed that dawn was the best time to sweep tombs. Nowadays, as most of the cemeteries are far away from the residential area, it is not necessary to visit the cemeteries early in the morning. The best time to sweep graves is between 9am and 3pm. The date for sweeping varies according to local customs. It is best to complete the graves-sweeping 10 days before or after the Qingming Festival.

Sweeping the graves of deceased ancestors on Qingming Festival is usually done a few days in advance. However, the timing is different for new graves and old graves. New graves are those that have not been buried for more than 3 years, and the first grave-sweeping should be done on an auspicious day within 10 days before the Qingming Festival, the second grave-sweeping should be done on the Qingming Festival, and the third grave-sweeping should be done on an auspicious day within 10 days after the Qingming Festival, whereas the old grave-sweeping is much simpler, and it can be done on any one of the 10 days before or after the Qingming Festival.

The first thing to do when arriving at a cemetery during the Qingming Festival is not to go directly to the graves of the deceased to start sweeping. As the deceased is blessed by Tua Pek Gong, so people must first go to the Tua Pek Gong Temple to worship and express their gratitude to Tua Pek Gong for taking care of the deceased for the whole year before they can start sweeping the graves.


#万富 #继承传统


The 13th day of the 5th Lunar Month: The Day of Worship to Lord Guan
God's Birthday 3 mins

The 13th day of the 5th Lunar Month: The Day of Worship to Lord Guan

Guan Yu was a paragon of virtue, exemplifying loyalty, righteousness, bravery, and chastity. He is a symbol of loyalty, faith, righteousness……

03-01-2024

新旧坟墓扫墓大不同!清明节扫墓的最佳时间是……

骨灰阁


关于清明节扫墓的最佳时间,古人认为卯时最佳,换算成现今时间为早上5点至早上7点。因为“卯时日出”,古代的军旅每天早上要“点卯”,所以古人认为卯时最佳。而现今墓地大多离居住地较远,一般不需要那么早。扫墓最佳时间为早上9点至下午3点。祭扫的日期,因各地风俗不同而有所不同。最好是在清明节的前后10天完成扫墓。

清明节给逝去的先人扫墓,一般是要提前几天进行的。但是对于新坟和久坟的时间,是不一样的。新坟指的是埋葬未超过3年的坟墓,第一次的扫墓选择在清明节前10天里,任意1天的吉日,第二次的扫墓在清明节的当天,第三次的扫墓选择在清明节后十天里,任意1天的吉日,而久坟就简单多了,清明节的前后10天里,任意1天即可。

清明节扫墓抵达墓园,第一件要做的事情并不是直接到先人的墓开始扫墓,平常先人受到大伯公的保佑,所以大家一定要先到大伯公庙祭拜答谢,感谢大伯公对先人一整年的照顾,之后才可以开始进行扫墓。


#万富 #继承传统


龙年装饰拼创意  雪隆商场年味浓
农历新年 3分钟

龙年装饰拼创意 雪隆商场年味浓

配合甲辰龙年,不少购物商场更是以龙为主题,作出应景摆设。今年最有架势及风范的当属双威金字塔的飞龙在天;而最独树一帜的肯定是谷中城的“柿柿如意”!