How to worship during Dumpling Festival?

粽子
图片来源:Unsplash

The dragon boat festival originated in China. Initially, the festival was a day of worship created by an ancient tribe that honoured the dragon totem. Before the spring and autumn period, on the fifth day on the fifth lunar month, it was a custom for the tribe to worship the totem in the form of a dragon boat race.

Eventually, Qu Yuan, a Chinese poet in the state of Chu during the Warring states period committed suicide by wading into the Miluo River while holding a rock. The ruling monarch wanted to pay tribute to his loyalty and patriotism. As such, the dragon boat festival was set as a day to commemorate Qu Yuan. At the same time, some other areas commemorate Wu Zixu, Cao E and etc.

In the modern world, the most common saying is that it’s a day to commemorate Qu Yuan. The folks wrapped rice dumplings and threw it into river to avoid his body to be eaten by fish and shrimp.

For worship ancestor on the dragon boat festival, you have to place an altar in front of the memorial tablet. Then prepare offerings include three kind of cooked meat, fruits, rice dumpling, six types of dishes, three glasses each of tea and liquor and one copy of gold and silver paper.

When the offerings are ready, burn incense and pay homage to your ancestors. When the incense is burnt until a quarter left, you may remove the gold and silver paper on the altar and burn it.

#万富 #继承传统

Feature Article


The 13th day of the 5th Lunar Month: The Day of Worship to Lord Guan
God's Birthday 3 mins

The 13th day of the 5th Lunar Month: The Day of Worship to Lord Guan

Guan Yu was a paragon of virtue, exemplifying loyalty, righteousness, bravery, and chastity. He is a symbol of loyalty, faith, righteousness……

28-05-2024

端午节的由来是什么?端午节如何祭祖?

粽子
图片来源:Unsplash

端午节起源于中国,最初为古代崇拜龙图腾的部族,举行图腾祭祀的节日。春秋之前有在农历五月初五,以龙舟竞渡形式举行部落图腾祭祀的习俗。后因战国时期的楚国诗人屈原,在该日抱石跳汨罗江自尽,统治者为树立忠君爱国标签,将端午作为纪念屈原的节日,同时也有部分地区以纪念伍子胥,曹娥等说法。

在现今社会较为普遍的说法为纪念屈原,因爱国诗人屈原在该日抱石跳汨罗江自尽,民间纷纷包裹粽子投入江河,以免其身躯被鱼虾食之,于是就有了端午节吃粽子之说。

除了吃粽子,其实端午节也是转运除秽的大好时机。民俗节日少不了要祭拜、祭祖。端午节祭祖也马虎不得,端午祭祖该怎么准备呢?

首先,在祖先牌位前摆放供桌,准备的供品有熟三牲、水果、粽子、饭菜六款、茶酒各三杯、刈金及银纸一份。准备好供品就点香向祖先诚心敬奉。香烧至四分之一,就可以将贡桌上的金银纸取下,拜三拜后烧化。

#万富 #继承传统

热门文章


肝胆相照仁智义勇  农历五月十三祭关公
神诞 3分钟

肝胆相照仁智义勇 农历五月十三祭关公

农历五月十三是关圣帝君祝寿,是民间信仰中关圣帝君的圣诞,许多庙宇都会在这一天准备祝寿大典。但其实也有不少庙宇是在农历六月廿四日,为什么关圣帝君会有两个圣诞日?