Differences between the auspicious time for ancestor worship in the New Year and ancestor worship in different places of origin

祭祖
(Image source: I-Stock)

It is a traditional Chinese custom to pay homage to the ancestors during the festive season. Although the ritual process and offerings have been gradually simplified over time, the Lunar New Year rituals are still valued by most Chinese families as Chinese people believe everything is renewed at the beginning of the New Year, reflecting the core value of being prudent and serious in paying tribute to one's ancestors.

When interviewed by the Preserving Traditions team, Malaysian field historian and folklorist, Lee Eng Kew said that each family has its own way of worshipping their ancestors, some of which are handed down from their ancestors, while others evolve according to their living habits, and that there is no right or wrong way of worshipping, and what is most important is the filial piety and obedience of children and grandchildren towards their ancestors.

"The process of ancestor worship is basically as follows: prepare the offerings, place them neatly on the table in front of the ancestor tablets, burn three or six sticks of incense, go outside to invite the deceased ancestors to the feast, and inform the door gods that the ancestors need to be welcomed. For the offerings, some families prepare Three Sacrifices and home-cooked food, while others order food from restaurants. After the offerings are made, the family kneels down and burns incense to invite the ancestors to come and eat. The order of burning incense is in the order of seniority of family members, such as parents, eldest son and daughter-in-law, second son and daughter-in-law, then children and grandchildren, and so on and so forth.

He went on to say that after about half an hour, an oracle is thrown to ask the ancestors if they have eaten enough, and then an oracle is thrown to ask the ancestors for permission to burn paper money (some families do not ask to burn paper money). If the ancestors agree, the family will burn the paper money and yuanbao. In some Nyonya families, cakes and pastries are baked the day before to pay tribute to their deceased ancestors, telling them that they will worship them tomorrow and inviting them to come back tomorrow for the rituals.

From his fieldwork, he reported that the offerings to the ancestors mainly consisted of the Three Sacrifices, tea, wine, cakes and fruits, but also varied according to the place of origin.

祭祖
(Image source: I-Stock)

"Teochew or Hokkien people are slightly more formal, serving five or six bowls of rice or even twelve bowls of rice, while Cantonese or Hakka people usually serve three bowls of rice, one bowl of soup and five or seven bowls of food. The number of chopsticks, spoons, tea and wine is usually determined by the number of bowls of rice. As modern families are getting smaller, the offerings are simpler. Some people prepare a boxed meal or divide the dishes and rice into small bowls as offerings to their ancestors.

Traditionally, ancestor worship on New Year's Eve is usually done during the day, and in recent years there has been a saying that “ancestor worship should not be done after 12 noon”. Lee Eng Kew pointed out that the latter statement is not correct, as it is related to the fact that southern Buddhist monks do not eat at noon. If you are busy in the morning, you can move the time of offering to the afternoon, do not worry about the time, ancestor worship is a sacred event, just take it easy and venerate your ancestors with sincerity.

He mentioned that traditional customs may change with the times and the environment, but the core never changes. Inherit the spirit of prudence, respect for God (ancestors) as God, worship ancestors by inviting them home as if they continue to exist, whether they are alive or deceased, treat them as “human”; provide food, tea and wine, paper money for the deceased ancestors as this is the philosophy of Chinese civilization of "being human".

As the saying goes, each country or place has its own customs, each origin has its own way of worshipping, each family also has a different way of worshipping. Therefore, this article is for reference only.


#万富 #继承传统

Feature Article


Where to worship Guanyin?  Malaysia's Famous Guanyin Temples
God's Birthday 2 mins

Where to worship Guanyin? Malaysia's Famous Guanyin Temples

The 19th day of the 6th lunar month marks the occasion of Guanyin Bodhisattva's attainment of the bodhisattva state. It is widely believed……

新年祭祖吉时与各籍贯祭祖的不同之处

祭祖
(图片来源:I-Stock)


逢年过节祭拜祖先是华人传统习俗,虽然随着时代变迁,祭祖流程与祭品从过往的繁琐及讲究逐步简化,但新年伊始万象更新,农历新年祭祖仪式仍然受大多数华人家庭重视,体现了慎终追远的核心价值。

马来西亚文化民俗历史田野工作者李永球接受《万富传承》访问时表示,每户家庭祭祖方式各有不同,有的是按照家族祖辈流传下来的方式,有的也会随生活习惯而演变,无论哪种祭拜方式皆没有对错之分,最重要的是子孙们对祖先的孝顺之道。

“祭祖流程大致如下:淮备好祭品,整齐摆在祖先神主牌前案桌上,烧三枝或六枝香,到户外呼请祖先到来飨祭,禀告门神必须迎接祖先莅临。祭品方面,有的家庭会淮备三牲及烹饪家常菜,有的则会直接在餐馆外带。摆放祭品后,就跪下烧香,恭请祖先到位吃饭。烧香的秩序以家族成员的辈分依次排序,比如父母、长男长媳、次子次媳、再到子孙等等,以此类推。”

他续称,大约半小时后,就掷筊问祖先吃饱了没,再掷筊问祖先是否可以烧金银纸钱(有的家庭不问烧纸钱)。征得祖先同意后,即可化金纸钱元宝。一些峇峇娘惹家庭,会在前一日先作些糕粿祭拜祖先,禀告明日将会祭祖,呼请祖先明日归来飨祭。”

他以田野研究分享说道,祭祖供品主要有三牲菜肴、茶酒糕果等物,但也会因籍贯各异。

祭祖
(图片来源:I-Stock)

“潮州或福建人稍微‘隆重’,会供奉五或六碗饭菜,有的甚至会淮备十二碗饭菜;而广府或客家人大多供奉三碗饭,一碗汤,五或七碗菜肴。筷子汤匙与茶酒的数量,通常依照多少碗饭而定。现代人家庭人口越来越少,因此供品淮备也越来越简单。一些人是淮备盒饭,或将菜肴及饭分装成小碗,再用以祭拜祖先。”

根据传统,除夕祭祖一般是在白天进行,近年有“祭祖不能超过中午12时”的说法。对此,李永球指出,后者说法并不正确,因为该说法跟南传佛教和尚过午不食相关。倘若早上忙,可将祭祀时间挪到下午,不要因为时间而而担心忧虑,祭祖是神圣的大事,放开心情,诚意祭祀就行了。

他说,传统风俗会应时代环境而改变,但万变不离其宗。传承慎终追远的精神,敬神(祖先)如神在,祭祖就当做祖先回家飨祭,当祂们存在似的,无论是生前死后,都是“人”的生活,逝后依然需要供给饭菜茶酒,需要纸钱消费,这也是华夏文明“做人”的哲学。

所谓“百里不同风,千里不同俗”,各籍贯有各自的祭祀方式,各个家庭也有不同的祭拜方式。所以本文仅供参考。


#万富 #继承传统

热门文章


龙年装饰拼创意  雪隆商场年味浓
农历新年 3分钟

龙年装饰拼创意 雪隆商场年味浓

配合甲辰龙年,不少购物商场更是以龙为主题,作出应景摆设。今年最有架势及风范的当属双威金字塔的飞龙在天;而最独树一帜的肯定是谷中城的“柿柿如意”!