Johor Ancient Temple Chingay, The Grandest Deities Parade in Malaysia

the ancient temple of the wandering god in Johor Bahru 1

In other Chinese areas, the atmosphere of Chinese New Year fades right after the Lantern Festival. However, in Johor Bahru, the town is still bustling with excitement even after the 15th day of the first lunar month, and the atmosphere is even more enthusiastic, because for the people in Johor Bahru, the New Year is not officially over until after the 20th day of the first month.

"Go home and join the Chingay Festival!" is a must-attend event for Johor Bahru people every year. The five-day-long festival is not only about the strong yelling of “Heng ah! Huat Ah!” but it also carries the people’s nostalgia to the native land and veneration of Deities.

The five major clans is a unique structure of the Chinese community in Johor Bahru. The five clans have their own associations which include Teochew Eight Districts Association, Hokkien Association, Johor Bahru Kwong Siew Wai Kuan, Hakka Association and Persatuan Hainan Johor Bahru.

The five deities enshrined in Ancient Temple are worshipped by each of the five clans, and it is under the promotion of the five clans that the Chingay Festival has been held for more than a hundred years and has become increasingly exciting as well as an international event, showing the world the mobilisation system and power of the Johor Bahru’s Chinese community.

The slogan “Ancient Temple Spirit and Five-Clan Harmony” refers to the fact that each clan has its own role to play and works closely with the Johor Bahru Chinese Association to safeguard the rights and interests of the Chinese community and to maintain peace in the community, making the Ancient Temple a symbol of the Chinese community’s spirit in Johor Bahru.

The 18th day of the First Lunar Month: Lighting Ceremony

The Lighting Ceremony at Xing Gong Temple marked the beginning of the Chingay Festival.

The 19th day of the First Lunar Month: Street Washing Ceremony

the ancient temple of the wandering god in Johor Bahru 2

On the 19th day of the first month of the lunar calendar, at 11:00 am, the Johor Ancient Temple Management Board led the committee and a group of devotees to walk from the temple to the procession route passed by the deities on their nightly tour, sprinkling holy water steeped in pomelo leaves and pomegranate leaves while sprinkling white rice, salt, and tea leaves on the ground. It means to ward off evil spirits and pray to the deities for a smooth parade. There is a myth going around that it will trigger rainfall on the day of street washing.

After the street washing ceremony, the crowd returned to Ancient Temple for the sedan chair ceremony. During the tour, the devotees would shake the sedan chair vigorously, so the skill of tying the sedan chair is challenging. The temple hall was abuzz with excitement as the representatives of the five clans and the bridge guards tied up the sedan chair in an orderly manner amidst all the commotion.

The 20th day of the First Lunar Month: Deities Leaving Ancient Temple

the ancient temple of the wandering god in Johor Bahru 3

The 20th day of the first lunar month is the Parade of Deities, which means that the Deities are invited to move to Xing Gong Temple. Although the ceremony started at 11:00 a.m., the devotees had been waiting outside the temple since around 9:00 a.m., and the crowd was enormous. The order of parade was Zhao Da Yuan Shuai, Hua Guang Da Di, Gan Tian Da Di, Hong Xian Da Di and Yuan Tian Da Di. When the Deities came out one by one, the devotees outside the temple held joss sticks and worshipped, occasionally shouting "shake, shake, shake", and the members carrying the sedan chair shook it vigorously from side to side, which made the scene exciting and surging.

Upon arrival at Xing Gong Temple, the five Deities were seated in the order mentioned above, and rows of stages are set up in front of them, where the special theatre and performances of the deities of different origins would be staged. At nightfall, the five stages were used to stage a synchronised performance of the opera of each origin, with lion and dragon dances underneath, bringing out the cultural essence to the fullest extent.

The 21st day of the first lunar month: Night Parade of the Deities

The Night Parade of the Deities is the climax of the Ancient Temple Chingay Festival. In the evening, Xing Gong Temple was crowded with people wearing T-shirts of different clans waiting for the official start of the parade as if they were participating in a carnival.

After shouting “Heng ah! Huat ah!” repeatedly, the five deities were carried out of Xing Gong Temple in order and paraded along the main streets of Johor Bahru on an 8 km procession route. 2023's Chingay Parade is the first to regain its former glory since the outbreak of pandemic, with approximately 300,000 people joining the parade.

The century-old Ancient Temple Chingay has been passed down to this day, which is like a big magnetic field and the identity of the Chinese in Johor Bahru. It is an important festival for the Johor Bahru Chinese people to search for collective memory and reintegrate the social order as well as power structure.

The 22nd day of the first Lunar month: Return of Deities to Ancient Temple

With the ceremony of Deities returning to Ancient Temple, the festival officially rang down the curtain. 

#万富    #继承传统


Creative CNY Mall Decorations to Ring In the Year of the Dragon
Chinese New Year 3 mins

Creative CNY Mall Decorations to Ring In the Year of the Dragon

With less than a week to go until Chinese New Year, which photogenic shopping malls have you been to?

23-11-2023

全马最盛大的游神庆典——柔佛新山古庙游神

the ancient temple of the wandering god in Johor Bahru 1


在其他华人地区,基本上过完元宵节农历新年气氛已退散,唯独在柔佛新山,正月十五之后气氛依然闹哄哄,甚至更热烈,因为对新山人而言,过了正月年廿之后才算是正式过完年。

“回家游神!”是新山游子们每年必赴的约。长达五天的游神庆典除了 “兴啊!发啊!”这一声声气势雄伟的呐喊,也包含了新山人对这片土地的原乡情怀,以及对神明的敬仰与崇拜。

五帮是新山华社独特的格局,新山五帮分别是柔佛潮州八邑会馆、新山福建会馆、新山广肇会馆、新山客家公会和新山海南会馆五个不同籍贯的乡团。柔佛古庙供奉的五尊神明由五帮各自祭拜,而正是在五帮积极推动之下,古庙游神历经百多年来始能越办越精彩,甚至走向国际,让世界看见新山华社动员的力量。

“古庙精神,五帮共和”这句标语,说的正是各帮各施其职,并与新山中华公会紧密合作,维护华社权益与社会和平,以致于古庙成为新山华社的精神象征。


正月十八:亮灯仪式

行宫亮灯仪式为游神庆典掀开序幕。


正月十九:洗街仪式

the ancient temple of the wandering god in Johor Bahru 2


正月十九洗街日上午 11 时,柔佛古庙管委会带领工委与一众善信从古庙出发,走过众神夜游途经街道,以柚子叶、石榴叶沾上符水朝空泼洒;并以白米、盐巴、茶叶往地上洒。意即洗净邪物,祈求神明保佑游神顺利进行。坊间流传一个说法:洗街日一定会下雨。

洗街仪式之后,众人回到古庙进行请神坐轿仪式,游神期间善信们会大力摇晃神轿,因此绑神轿的技巧具备考验。古庙大殿人声沸腾,群情激昂,五帮代表和护桥成员在一片闹哄哄之中有序地绑神轿。


正月廿:众神出銮

the ancient temple of the wandering god in Johor Bahru 3


正月廿为众神出銮,意即恭请众神移驾到行宫。虽说出銮仪式在早上 11 时才开始,但善信从早上 9 时许即开始在古庙外围观等候,人潮汹涌。出銮排序依序为赵大元帅、华光大帝、感天大帝、洪仙大帝及元天上帝。众神一一出銮,庙外善信持香膜拜,偶尔呐喊“摇啊摇啊”,抬神轿成员即左右大力摇晃神轿,场面激昂澎湃。

抵达行宫后,五尊神明按照上述排序坐位供奉,前方亦搭建起成排舞台,即将上演各籍贯特色的酬神戏及演出。夜幕降临,五个舞台同步上演各籍贯戏曲,舞台下亦有舞狮舞龙表演,将文化色彩发挥得淋漓尽致。


正月廿一:众神夜游

众神夜游乃古庙游神庆典的高潮,傍晚时分的行宫被挤得水泄不通,人声鼎沸,身穿各帮游神T 恤的民众像是参与嘉年华般,等候着夜游正式开始。

在一次又一次呐喊“兴啊!发啊!”之后,五尊神明依序抬出行宫,沿着新山市区各主要街道游行,路线长达八公里。2023 年的古庙游神,是疫情笼罩以来首度恢复疫前盛况的庆典,约 30万人共襄盛举。

历经百年的柔佛古庙游神流传至今,就像是一个很大的磁场,也是新山华人的身份认同。这是新山人寻找集体记忆、重新整合新山华人社会的秩序与权力结构很重要的节场。


正月廿二:众神回銮

随着廿二回銮仪式结束,游神庆典正式圆满落幕。


#万富    #继承传统


龙年装饰拼创意  雪隆商场年味浓
农历新年 3分钟

龙年装饰拼创意 雪隆商场年味浓

配合甲辰龙年,不少购物商场更是以龙为主题,作出应景摆设。今年最有架势及风范的当属双威金字塔的飞龙在天;而最独树一帜的肯定是谷中城的“柿柿如意”!