12-02-2024

Restore the Quintessence of Hakka Rice Cracker through Improvement, Innovation and Localisation

米埕
(Image Source:醸 Niang Republic)

If you're looking for an essential snack or 'New Year's snack' for the Hakka people during Chinese New Year, you can't go wrong with the traditional rice crackers, and most people are very particular about choosing the most time-honored or handmade vendors. The five steps in making rice crackers are boiling, scooping, pouring, pounding and cutting. The process may seem simple, but it is actually time-consuming and tedious, and not something that can be done on your own.

Niang Republic, an online food and lifestyle brand, is taking advantage of the Chinese New Year to launch the "Prosperous Rice Craker" gift box, which preserves the traditional good taste while making improvements to breathe new life into traditional food and let the new generation reacquaint themselves with the beauty of tradition.

In the interview, Jason Teo, the founder of the company, said that the traditional Hakka rice cracker was long and simply wrapped in red papers, while in recent years it has gradually evolved into plastic vacuum packaging.

"Rice cracker has a crunchy texture and is usually sprinkled with coriander, sesame seeds, sugar syrup and maltose. As the most challenging part is the 'scooping' step, the timing is very crucial, because once the sugar is almost solidified, it will not be able to mix the rice cracker or bihun cracker evenly. Therefore, to make the rice cracker less likely to solidify, when we boil the syrup, we add not only sugar, but also a little sugar syrup and mandarin oranges to slow down the crystallization process". The process conveys the wisdom of the old generation about food and life.

He pointed out that although there is no shortage of rice crackers, they are not widely available in the market, so he decided to make the crispy rice cracker series one of the main souvenirs of the shop in 2023, and introduced the "Prosperous Rice Cracker" New Year Gift Box this year, which contains four flavors, including Nasi Lemak Rice Cracker, Original Bihun Cracker, Hakka Coriander Bihun Cracker and Rice Peanut Cracker.

米埕
(Image Source:醸 Niang Republic)

"Doing this project was actually fun and interesting. Rice Cracker is both familiar and strange, especially to the Hakka people who may not have eaten Coriander Rice Cracker or Bihun Rice Cracker, and when they see this product again, they will get to know it all over again".

The most common rice cracker flavors on the market are plain and coriander, but Niang Republic has improved both the shape and taste, with smaller shapes and distinctive sweet and salty flavors that people couldn’t help but take one bite after another.

In addition to the traditional flavors, Niang Republic has also introduced Nasi Lemak Rice Cracker which combines local elements with traditional food.

"We hope that tradition doesn't lose the young, and the young don't lose the tradition; instead of constantly creating new things, it's better to improve tradition with the times, create new possibilities and ideas, and then pass them on. Traditional food, if no one continues to make it, will fade together with the older generation".


#万富 #继承传统

Feature Article


Why Do Malaysians Only Eat Bakwa During Chinese New Year?
Others food 3 mins

Why Do Malaysians Only Eat Bakwa During Chinese New Year?

Eating bakwa during the Chinese New Year is a unique tradition in Malaysia and Singapore. Why do Malaysians only eat bakwa during CNY?

12-02-2024

还原客家米埕精髓,改良创新在地化

米埕
(图片来源:醸 Niang Republic)

若要说客家人农历新年有什么必吃的零嘴或“年饼”,当中一定少不了传统米埕,而且多数人都会很讲究地挑老字号或是手工制作的商家。米埕制作五大步骤:煮、捞、倒、打、切,工序看似简单,实则费时多工,绝非靠一己之力能够“胜任”的年饼。

线上美食生活杂货品牌醸(Niang Republic)趁着农历新年,推出“年年有米”米埕礼盒,保留传统好滋味的同时,花心思进行改良,赋予传统食品新生命,让新一代重新认识传统的美好。

醸创办人赵奕川受访时表示,传统客家米埕呈长条形,以红纸简单包装,而近年来已逐步演变成塑料真空包装。

“米埕的口感香脆,一般都会撒上芫荽、芝麻、糖浆及麦芽糖。至于最挑战的部分是‘捞’的步骤,我们需要抢时间,一旦白糖将近凝固,就无法均匀地混合米埕或米粉埕。因此,为了让米埕不容易凝固,煮糖浆时除了加入糖,也会加入少许糖浆和桔子,阻缓结晶过程。”工序中传递老一辈人的饮食生活智慧。

他指出,市场上虽不乏米埕或米粉埕,但却不普遍,因此醸就决定在2023年将香脆米埕系列作为该店的主打伴手礼之一,并在今年新年推出“年年有米”新年礼盒,内含4种口味,包括椰浆饭米埕、原味米粉埕、芫荽米粉埕和花生米埕。

米埕
(图片来源:醸 Niang Republic)

“这个企划的执行过程其实挺好玩有趣,米埕这东西对很多人而言既熟悉又陌生,尤其是客家人,可能他们自己也不曾吃过芫荽米埕或米粉埕,再次看见这个产品时就重新认识它。”

市场上常见的米埕口味一般为原味和芫荽,醸在形状和口味两方面作出改良,形状较小、甜咸分明,让人吃了忍不住一口接一口。

除了传统口味之外,醸也推出充满马来西亚风味的椰浆饭口味米埕,将在地元素与传统食品结合。

“我们希望传统不失去年轻人,年轻人不失去传统;与其不断创造新东西,不如在传统上与时俱进地改良,创造新可能与心意,然后传承下去。传统食品如果没有人继续做,等到老一辈人走了之后,就会一年比一年少了。”

#万富 #继承传统

热门文章


美丽的误会  潮州河嘻原来是这回事!
潮州 3分钟

美丽的误会 潮州河嘻原来是这回事!

关于河嘻,有这么一个说法:当年卖鱼丸粿条汤的潮州人找了广东人帮忙写摊子的招牌,阴差阳错之下把潮州人的“鱼丸”音译成了“河嘻” ,结果河嘻成为了怡保独有的美食名词。