Fuzhou Ancestors Rooted in Nanyang - Sitiawan, the Little Fuzhou

原乡柔情霹雳行 福州

Sitiawan is the cradle of the Fuzhou people in West Malaysia. Malaysian Fuzhou people are generally associated with two places: Sibu in Sarawak, East Malaysia, and Sitiawan in Perak, West Malaysia; Sibu is known as New Fuzhou and Sitiawan is known as Little Fuzhou. Every year on the 9th of September, it is an important festival for the Fuzhou people of Sitiawan; besides Pillow Buns and Kompia, there are two other local delicacies waiting to be discovered in Sitiawan.

There are two versions of the origin of the name Sitiawan: some people say that the name means "it is really far" in Mandarin, because when the ancestors migrated to Nanyang, they travelled through the ocean and the river to reach this desolate land, and they were amazed by the arduous journey. Another version is that the Malay name SETIAWAN means SETIAKAWAN, commemorating a pair of elephants that were in distress but did not give up on each other.

Sitiawan is the cradle of the Fuzhou people in West Malaysia. When it comes to the Malaysian Fuzhou people, two places are generally associated with them: Sibu in Sarawak, East Malaysia, and Sitiawan in Perak, West Malaysia; one is known as New Fuzhou and the other is known as Little Fuzhou. In West Malaysia, no matter what city or town you are in, the Fuzhou people will generally say "My hometown is in Sitiawan”.

Fuzhou could be divided into 10 counties, which are Minhou, Changle, Fuqing, Lianjiang, Luoyuan, Yongtai, Minqing, Gutian, Pingnan and Pingtan. Most of the first Fuzhou people who came to Nanyang were from Minhou, Fuqing and Gutian, and the Fuzhou people from different counties were assigned settlement areas according to their respective dialects, resulting in the phenomenon of Fuqing people living in Fuqingyang (Kampung Cina), Minhou people living in Kampong Koh and Gutian people living in Ayer Tawar today.

Double Nine Festival to Commemorate the Pioneers, Hope to Become a Common Festival for Fuzhou People

The 9th of September is an important festival for the Fuzhou people of Sitiawan, known as the "Double Nine Festival", which began more than 120 years ago when the first Fuzhou settlers arrived at the Sitiawan harbour, opening the first chapter in Sitiawan's history. Nowadays, the church and Chinese associations in Sitiawan join hands to organize the Double Nine Festival every year to remember and honour the pioneers of the port.

The first thing to do on 9 September is to pay homage to the pioneers who opened the port by laying flowers at their graves, said Bishop Liew Kek Meng of the Methodist Church in Malaysia.

双九节
The first thing to do on 9 September is to pay homage to the pioneers who opened the port by laying flowers at their graves. (Image Source: Our Native Land-Perak)

"Our forefathers, Rev. Heinrich Ludwig Emil Luering and Rev. Ling Ching Mi, went to Fuzhou, China around July 1903 to recruit agricultural laborers. The recruitment process was difficult because at that time there were a lot of rumors and even poison pen letters suggesting that it might be forced labour and there were myths that there were enormous tigers in Nanyang.”

He went on to say that the Two Pioneers later met Rev. Huong Pau Seng, who spoke fluent Fuqing dialect, was originally from Fujian and was later transferred to Fuqing to serve as a pastor. With his help, the Two Pioneers eventually recruited hundreds of people.

"The main reason for the ancestors to leave China at that time was the economy, and then there were religious issues. Christians were persecuted in China and there were many incidents of persecution. It was difficult for the people from Fuzhou to come to Nanyang, and many people died of disease on board."

The first group that landed at Sitiawan on 9 September 1903 was 303 people; another 60 arrived on 15 September, bringing the total to about 363.

Today, Sitiawan Settlement Museum with a rich display of historical artifacts has been built to tell the story of the settlement of the Fuzhou people in Sitiawan with historical artifacts.

Dong Shixing, president of Persatuan Fuzhou Semenanjung Malaysia, pointed out that there are about 38 Fuzhou township organizations in West Malaysia, and more than half of their members are directly related to Sitiawan.

“In the past, our parents' generation put down roots here, then our generation went to the cities to study, work, start businesses, and settle down. But no matter what happens or how far we go, Sitiaiwan lives within our hearts.”

Our homeland is always our home, which is why the Fuzhou people in Sitiawan cherish the Double Nine Festival.

Misua, Fuqing People's Heritage of Craftsmanship, Signifying Peace and Longevity

福州面线
Making Misua is still a craft that depends on the weather, as too much heat or rain can affect the quality and duration of the process, which is a matter of dedication. (Image Source: Our Native Land-Perak)

Misua is an essential food for celebrations, and Misua is usually served with duck eggs, which in Fuzhou dialect means “to calm the chaos” so that there will be peace. This is why Fuzhou people also call it Taiping Noodles or Longevity Noodles.

Most of the people who know how to make Misua in Sitiawan are from Fuqing. Fuzhou's Misua is not mushy when cooked, but also elastic and non-sticky. The Our Native Land team came to Hock Chew So Mee Shua Workshop to see the process of making Misua and to learn about the Fuzhou people’s craftmanship.

In an interview, Wang Wenshan, the owner of Hock Chew So Mee Shua Workshop, said that when he was 13 years old, he followed his parents to cut rubber, but later he decided to follow his grandfather to learn how to make Misua, and this decision became his ambition for most of his life. Today, Wang has passed on his Misua-making skills to the next generation, and the whole family works together to run the family business.

"The market demand for Misua is high as they are served during many important festivals such as birthdays, Lunar New Year and postpartum. Now we have switched from purely handmade to semi-mechanized to meet the market demand. In the past, workers could only use two packets of flour a day, but now they can use 10 to 20 packets of flour a day".

He said that the secret of the delicious taste of Misua is the resting time of the dough, which had to be precise so that the Misua would not become mushy or sticky. Making Misua is still a craft that depends on the weather, as too much heat or rain can affect the quality and duration of the process, which is a matter of dedication.

What You Don't Know About Fuzhou: Momo Buns and Zheng Dong Bing

福州美食
Using common ingredients, Fuzhou people combine local elements with local craftsmanship to create delicacies that belong to the Malaysian Fuzhou people. (Image Source: Our Native Land)

When we talk about the local products of Sitiawan, the first things that come to mind are Pillow Buns and Kompia. But what we are going to introduce to you are Momo Buns and Zheng Dong Bing.

Momo is a traditional bun of the Minhou people of Fuzhou, similar in shape to a pillow bun, soft and white in colour, but instead of being filled, it is coated in kaya and butter, making it a traditional and unique bun in Sitiawan.

In times of scarcity, Momo buns could satisfy hunger quickly and conveniently, allowing people to rush off to work. Over time, the people of Fuzhou began to add different flavours to the buns. First, they sprinkled sugar on them. Later, the typical Nanyang flavour of butter and kaya was added.

Zheng Dong Bing, another type of Kompia in which the salt is replaced by sugar, is also twice the size of the Kompia. According to the Fuzhou Prefectural Gazetteer, Qi Jiguang, the anti-Wokou hero of the Ming Dynasty, led his troops on an eastward expedition in the 42nd year of the Jiajing period and entered Fujian Province to wipe out the Wokou pirates. When it rained for days and they could not prepare meals, Qi Jiguang ordered them to bake a kind of small bread that could be strung together with hemp rope and carried.

Later, these small loaves of bread became popular among the people as a necessary offering to the deities and ancestors. In memory of Qi Jiguang, the bread was named "Jiguang Bing". And to commemorate the conquest of the East, people called it "Zheng Dong Bing".

Using common ingredients, Fuzhou people combine local elements with local craftsmanship to create delicacies that belong to the Malaysian Fuzhou people.

Reposted in full from The Interview website

#万富 #继承传统

Feature Article


Habour of Lost Jewellery: Finding the Footprints of Hokkien Life
Our Native Land: Perak 10 mins

Habour of Lost Jewellery: Finding the Footprints of Hokkien Life

Our Native Land travelled to several towns and cities in Perak to find out the stories of the Hokkien people who settled here in Perak.

福州先贤扎根南洋——“小福州”实兆远

原乡柔情霹雳行 福州

实兆远正是西马的福州人的发源地。说到马来西亚的福州人,一般上会联想到两个地方:东马砂拉越的诗巫和西马霹雳的实兆远;一个叫新福州,一个叫小福州。每年9月9日,是实兆远福州人的重要节日;实兆远道地美食除了枕头包和光饼,原来还有另外两样?

关于实兆远名字的由来,有两个说法:有人说是“实在远”,因为当年先辈南来辗转通过海路,然后又通过河流,才来到这个蛮荒之地,所以就叹说“实在远”;另一个说法则是实兆远的马来名字“SETIAWAN”,是SETIAKAWAN的意思,为了纪念一对落难却不放弃彼此的大象朋友。

实兆远正是西马的福州人的发源地。说到马来西亚的福州人,一般上会联想到两个地方:东马砂拉越的诗巫和西马霹雳的实兆远;一个叫新福州,一个叫小福州。而在西马,不管身在哪一个城市、哪一个城镇,只要是福州人,一般都会说“老家在实兆远”。

若要仔细划分,福州有十邑,分别是闽侯、长乐、福清、连江、罗源、永泰、闽清、古田、屏南和平潭。第一批南来的福州人多数来自闽侯、福清和古田,来自不同邑的福州人按各自的方言获得分配垦殖区,这也造就了如今福清人聚居福清洋;闽侯人聚居甘文阁;古田人聚居爱大华的现象。

双九节缅怀先贤 盼成福州人共同节日

每年9月9日是实兆远福州人的重要节日,称为“双九节”。120多年前的这一天,第一批垦荒的福州人抵达实兆远港口,开启了实兆远历史篇章。如今,为了缅怀感恩当年的开埠先贤,实兆远的教会与华团每年联手主办双九节活动。

马来西亚基督教卫理公会会督廖克民牧师表示,9月9日要做的第一件事就是到开埠功臣的坟前献花致意。

双九节
为了缅怀感恩当年的开埠先贤,9月9日要做的第一件事就是到开埠功臣的坟前献花致意。(图片来源:《原乡柔情霹雳行》)

“先人柳依美和林称美在1903年7月左右到中国福州一带招募农工,招募的过程非常不顺利,因为当时流传很多流言蜚语,甚至出现一些黑函,指出这可能是‘卖猪仔’,又有谣言说南洋这块地老虎很大只、连虫都好像蟒蛇那么大……等等,导致人心惶惶。”

他续称,后来“双美”遇到了方鲍参牧师,说得一口流利福清话的他本是福建人,后被调派到福清担任教区长。在他的帮助之下,成功招募数百人下南洋。

“当年先贤离开中国的主要因素是经济,再来就是信仰的问题。在当时的中国,基督徒都遭受逼害,发生了很多逼迫事件。福州人下南洋的过程也非常艰辛,在船上病死的人也不少。”

“真正在1903年9月9日登陆到实兆远,第一批是303人;后来9月15日再来60人,总共大概有363人。”

如今,实兆远建设了一间历史文物陈列丰富的垦场博物馆,用历史文物讲述当年福州人在实兆远的垦殖变迁。

西马福州十邑社团总会总会长董仕星指出,在西马大约有38个福州乡团组织,其中超过一半以上的会员都跟实兆远有直接关系。

“以往我们的父母那一代在这里落地生根,而我们这辈人就从这里到外坡求学、打工、创业,然后也在外头成家立业。但无论如何,实兆远是我们的老家,不管我们走得多远,心依然在这里。”

心系家乡,皆因家是永远的归属,这也是为何实兆远的福州人如此重视双九节。

福清人手艺传承:寓意太平长寿的面线

福州面线
制作面线,仍是一门“靠天吃饭”的手艺,天气太湿太干都会影响其品质和时间,千丝万缕尽是用心。(图片来源:《原乡柔情霹雳行》)

面线是喜庆日子里必备的好意头食品,福州人在煮面线的时候会加入鸭蛋,在福州话里就是“压乱”的意思,压乱就会太平。因此,福州人又称面线为“太平面”或“长寿面”。

在实兆远,大部分会制作面线的人是福清人。福州的面线煮时不糊又柔韧不粘,《原乡柔情霹雳行》来到福州寿面线工坊,看看面线制作过程,了解福州人的手艺传承。

福州寿面线工坊东主王文善受访时表示,13岁那年原本跟随父母割胶,后来想想决定跟随外公学做面线,这一决定成为人生大半辈子的志业。如今,王文善也将制面手艺传承给下一代,全家合力经营家族生意。

“面线的市场需求量仍然是很大的,因为很多重要节日比如生日、农历新年、坐月子等都会吃。现在我们也已经从纯手工变成半机械化,以应对市场需求。以前纯手工一天只能做两包面粉的量,现在一般可以每天做10到20包面粉的量。”

他说,面线口感好吃的秘诀在于其筋道,面团走筋的时间拿捏精准,才不会让面线煮时变糊或吃起来黏牙。制作面线,仍是一门“靠天吃饭”的手艺,天气太湿太干都会影响其品质和时间,千丝万缕尽是用心。

你不知道的福州美食:“馍馍”和“征东饼”

福州美食
福州人以平凡的食材,用原乡手艺结合在地化元素,创造了属于马来西亚福州人的美食。(图片来源:《原乡柔情霹雳行》)

说到实兆远的手信,大家都会想到“枕头包”和“光饼”吧?但《原乡柔情霹雳行》要介绍给你的是“馍馍”和“征东饼”。

馍馍是福州闽侯人的传统包点,它的外形类似枕头包,雪白的包子入口松软,但却不如枕头包扮填满馅料,而是涂抹咖椰牛油,是实兆远独有的传统包点。

在物资匮乏的时代,馍馍正好可以让劳动阶级的福州人快速填饱肚子干活。随着时代进步,福州人开始为馍馍增添不同的口味。一开始撒些白糖,到后来又演变成了加入牛油和加央的南洋口味。

征东饼,是光饼的另一种类型,也就是改盐为糖,形状也比咸饼大一倍。据福州府志记载,明嘉靖四十二年抗倭英雄戚继光率军东征,进入福建追歼倭寇。连日阴雨, 军中不能开伙,戚继光便下令烤制一种最简单的小饼,用麻绳串起挂在将士身上充当干粮。

后来,这小饼流入民间,还成为了祭祀神灵祖先必备的供品。后人感念戚公便把小饼叫作继光饼,为纪念征东的行动也叫做征东饼。

福州人以平凡的食材,用原乡手艺结合在地化元素,创造了属于马来西亚福州人的美食。

内容转载自《访问》网

#万富 #继承传统

热门文章


在珠宝遗落的港湾,寻找福建人的生活足迹
原乡寻迹:霹雳 10分钟

在珠宝遗落的港湾,寻找福建人的生活足迹

根据资料显示,早在1845年就有闽南人在安顺生活,超过百年历史的古庙——福顺宫正是最有力的依据。拥有超过千年历史的泉州南音被誉为中国音乐活化石,太平仁爱音乐社仍然在传唱。《原乡柔情霹雳行》走遍霹雳州几个城镇,寻觅霹雳州福建籍贯人士落脚的故事。