【Our Native Land | Perak】Little Fuzhou: Sitiawan

原乡柔情霹雳行

There are two places generally associated with Fuzhou people in Malaysia: Sibu in East Malaysia and Sitiawan in West Malaysia; the former is known as New Fuzhou and the latter is known as Little Fuzhou. In West Malaysia, no matter which town you go to, Fuzhou people will generally say "My hometown is in Sitiawan". Sitiawan is the birthplace of the Fuzhou people in West Malaysia.

More than 120 years ago, under the leadership of three pastors, a new chapter in Sitiawan's history began. Today, the church and Chinese associations in Sitiawan join hands to organize the Double Nine Festival every year to remember and give thanks to the pioneers of Sitiawan in those days.

Among the ten counties in Fuzhou, there is a place called Fuqing. And in Manjung, Perak, there is a place called Fuqingyang (Kampung Cina) where most of the residents are Fuqing. It is interesting that the local landmark is a cannon, but why? In recent years, there has been a new cultural tourist attraction near Fuqingyang – the Pin Xian Ci Tua Pek Gong Temple, which houses the tallest Tua Pek Gong statue in the country, a statue of Ksitigarbha, the Laughing Buddha, the God of Wealth, the Bagua Pavilion and more. The traditional crafts of the Fuqing people also include the making of Fuzhou Misua.

At the end of the trip, of course, there was time for some souvenir shopping. Everyone thinks of the Pillow Buns and Kompia, right? But what Our Native Land would like to introduce you to are the Momo Buns and Zheng Dong Bing. What are the stories behind these traditional Fuzhou delicacies?

#万富 #继承传统


【Our Native Land | Perak】The Teochews Who Live By The Sea
Our Native Land: Perak 3 mins

【Our Native Land | Perak】The Teochews Who Live By The Sea

As far as the Teochew are concerned, they are not a minority in the Malaysian Chinese community. If you look up the information……

【原乡柔情 | 霹雳行】小福州 实兆远

原乡柔情霹雳行

说到马来西亚的福州人,一般上会联想到两个地方:东马的诗巫和西马的实兆远;一个叫新福州,一个叫小福州。而在西马,不管身在哪一个城市、哪一个城镇,只要是福州人,一般都会说“老家在实兆远”。实兆远就是西马的福州人的发源地。

120多年前,在三位牧师的带领下,开启了实兆远历史篇章。如今,为了缅怀感恩当年的开埠先贤,实兆远的教会与华团每年联手主办双九节活动。

福州十邑当中,有一个地方叫福清。而在霹雳州曼绒,有一个地方叫福清洋,居民大部分都是福清人。当地的地标是一台大炮,为何?福清洋附近近年来有了新兴文化旅游景点——品仙祠大伯公庙,有全国最高大伯公像、地藏王菩萨像、笑佛、财神爷、八卦亭等等。福清人的传统手艺还包括制作福州面线。

结束实兆远的行程之前,当然得买手信。大家都会想到“枕头包”和“光饼”吧?但原乡柔情要介绍给你的是“馍馍”和“征东饼”。这些属于福州人的传统味道背后,又有些什么故事呢?

#万富 #继承传统


【原乡柔情 | 霹雳行】傍海而居的潮州人
原乡寻迹:霹雳 3分钟

【原乡柔情 | 霹雳行】傍海而居的潮州人

说到潮州人,在马来西亚华社并不算少数。翻开资料的话就会发现,马来西亚潮州公会联合会在全马13州一共有58个属会,其中除了潮州会馆之外,有不少是以韩江公会为名,而且大多数都在北马。到了十八丁,还要去探访一位手艺匠人,他制作手工龙香已经有四十多年。制作手工龙香的过程繁杂,而且耗时耗耐心……