【AFE Hong Kong 2024】Exploring the Funeral Industry's Journey of Transformation

AFE HK
(Image source: AFE Hong Kong 2024)

The Asia Funeral and Cemetery Expo & Conference (AFE) in Hong Kong has made a comeback from the epidemic and was successfully held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) in May. The three-day event attracted more than 2,500 buyers, visitors, associations, officials and funeral directors from 35 countries.

Organized by Brilliant Vertical Exhibition and supported by the National Funeral Directors Association (NFDA), AFE aims to provide a platform for communication between the funeral industry of the East and the West, advocate new funeral concepts, promote new technology products and services, and achieve the goal of keeping pace with the times for the global industry.

This year, with the theme "Reunite, Fight Back", AFE showcased a comprehensive and diversified range of exhibits, including coffins and urns, monuments and stones, equipment and machinery, souvenirs, technology and services, accessories and materials, etc. It is worth mentioning that the exhibition site is full of eco coffins, digital technology funeral reform and other exhibits in line with the current trends.

AFE HK
AFE showcased a comprehensive and diversified range of exhibits, including coffins and urns, monuments and stones, equipment and machinery, souvenirs, technology and services, accessories and materials, etc. (Image source: Perpetual Memorial Park)

In her address, Christine Pepper, Executive Director of the American Funeral Directors Association, said that funeral directors exist because bereaved families are unsure of what to do at this critical time of grief. She also presented an overview of global consumer research at the conference.

According to the American Funeral Directors Association, more than half of the world's population believes it is necessary to organize a funeral or memorial service for a loved one. Asian countries (78.1%), African countries (90.3%), North America (65.7%) and South America (80.1%).

In addition, the Association has also compiled the following statistics on the experience of attending a funeral: 48.7% of respondents have attended a funeral service combining a farewell ceremony and a burial, 23.9% have attended a funeral service combining a farewell ceremony and a cremation, 7.8% have attended a cremation, 6.3% have attended a burial and 4.4% have attended a simple funeral.

As the funeral industry continues to transform and innovate in recent years, the Asia Funeral and Cemetery Expo & Conference brought together more than 20 industry players to analyze the industry's development trends and share their observations and insights into the funeral sector.

Among them, Wang Jisheng, Executive Director of Fu Shou Yuan International Group Ltd, said that the funeral industry currently sees digitalization as an important direction of development and is currently considering digitalization in all aspects, from service to documentation.

The essence of funeral work is to preserve and pass on the spirit of the deceased. But what and how to preserve is exactly what today's funeral directors have to think about.

At the meeting, he analyzed the future trend and transformation model of China's funeral industry and explained on Fu Shou Yuan's technology strategy, hoping to work with the industry to develop a new dimension of digital life service in the funeral industry. From the physical space to the spiritual world, just as Fu Shou Yuan’s slogan: to beautify the mark, to thicken the record and to preserve the continuation of memories.

#万富 #继承传统

Feature Article


Green Funeral Trends are on the Horizon, Can You Accept an Eco-friendly Casket?
Handicraft Preservation 5 mins

Green Funeral Trends are on the Horizon, Can You Accept an Eco-friendly Casket?

It is a common misconception that paper caskets are cheaper than traditional caskets due to the raw materials used……

探索殡葬业转型之路 2024年香港亚洲殡仪及墓园博览暨会议圆满举办

AFE HK
(图片来源:AFE Hong Kong 2024)

香港亚洲殡仪及墓园博览暨会议(AFE)阔别疫情卷土重来,甫于5月在香港会展中心(HKCEC)圆满结束。为期三天的活动吸引超过2500个来自35个国家的买家、参观团、协会、官员、殡葬业界等参加。

由美纵展览主办、美国殡仪总监协会(NFDA)支持的AFE旨在创办东西方殡葬业界交流平台,倡导新的殡葬理念,推广新技术产品和服务,达致全球同业与时俱进的目的。

今年,AFE以“团聚,反击”(Reunite, Fight Back)为主题,展品范围全面且多元,包括棺材与骨灰盒、纪念碑与石材、设备与机器、纪念品、技术与服务、配件与材料等等。值得一提的是,展览现场不乏环保棺木、数字科技殡葬改革等紧贴时下趋势的展品。

AFE HK
展品范围全面且多元,包括棺材与骨灰盒、纪念碑与石材、设备与机器、纪念品、技术与服务、配件与材料等等。(图片来源:万富山庄)

美国殡仪总监协会行政总监Christine Pepper在致词时表示,殡葬业者存在的必要,是因为丧亲家属在承受丧亲之痛的关键时刻,不知道自己不懂什么。她也在会上分享了全球消费者调查概况。

根据美国殡葬协会数据显示,全球超过半数的人都认为,为至亲举办丧礼或告别式是一件必要的事情。亚洲国家(78.1%)、非洲国家(90.3%)、北美地区(65.7%)以及南美地区(80.1%)。

此外,该会也针对参加丧礼体验做了以下统计:48.7%受访者参与过告别式结合土葬的丧礼、23.9%受访者参与过告别式结合火化的丧礼、7.8%受访者参与过往生者火葬仪式、6.3%受访者参与过往生者土葬仪式,以及4.4%受访者表示参加的丧礼从简。

随着殡葬业近年不断转型与创新,亚洲殡仪及墓园博览暨会议安排超过20名业界人士剖析行业发展趋势,分享殡葬领域的观察和见解。

其中,中国殡葬协会副会长、福寿园集团总裁王计生表示,目前殡葬行业把数字化视作非常重要的发展方向,从服务到记载各方面都往数字化的角度思考。

“殡葬工作的本质是‘留’,传承逝者精神。但‘留什么?怎么留?’正是当代殡葬业者必须思考的事。”

他在会上分析中国殡葬业的未来趋势和转型模式,并阐述福寿园的科技策略,盼与业者共同开拓殡葬业数字化生命服务的新维度。通过物理空间走向精神世界,如同福寿园的标语:把“记号”做美、“记载”做厚、“纪念”做长。

#万富 #继承传统

热门文章


绿色殡葬趋势来袭  你能接受环保棺材吗?
守艺传承 5分钟

绿色殡葬趋势来袭 你能接受环保棺材吗?

随着亚洲人口老龄化加速,近年来绿色殡葬的讨论度与需求逐渐增长。不少人误以为纸制棺材会因为原材料关系而比传统棺木便宜……