The time-honoured goldsmith's shop in Johor Bahru: Kwong Lee Soon Kee

a time-honored gold shop in Johor Bahru


Many of our ancestors came to Nanyang to earn a living through labour, and they brought their skills to this foreign land. And most of the Kwong Siew people were involved in the catering industry, machinery and manufacturing industries, as well as goldsmithing, which is a highly sophisticated trade. 

Today, there are at least four historical goldsmith shops in the old neighbourhood of Johor Bahru that were run by Kwong Siew people. One of them, Kwong Lee Soon Kee, is located at the straightest, longest and oldest street in Johor Bahru.

At the age of 83, Chan Chee Wai is the second-generation owner of Kwong Lee Soon Kee. His father took up goldsmithing to support his family, and the family trade has been passed down for several generations, but now he has handed over the business to his son, Chan Kok Nang.

Inquiring about the origin of the name Kwong Lee Soon Kee, "In the past, my father took over the shop from the previous owner, so my father extended the original name of the signboard, 'Kwong Lee', and added his own name, 'Soon Kee', which became the name of today's Kwong Lee Soon Kee.

He also mentioned the requirements for becoming a goldsmith: "A goldsmith must have patience, perseverance, a good reputation, and most importantly, to be trustworthy. What if we hand the gold to someone, and he absconds with the goods, would that not be a big deal?"

The once glorious traditional goldsmithing industry has gradually become a sunset industry. The reasons of it include rising gold prices, low purchasing power in the market, the abandonment of handmade work by mechanical substitutes and so on, and the greater challenge is to work in a stuffy workshop for long periods and test the patience day by day, which has made it difficult to find a successor for the handmade goldsmithing industry.

Chan Kok Nang learned from the master goldsmiths when he was 22 years old, and gradually became his father's successor, sitting in the hot and stuffy working environment every day for 30 years, making gold jewellery with his own hands. However, he does not force his son to follow in his father's footsteps, and is open-minded about his son's life choices.

"My son once asked me if I wanted them to come back to Malaysia, and I told them frankly that I wouldn't force them to come back, because after all, it would be a total different story to live in Malaysia as they already adapted to the lifestyle in Singapore, and the education they receive would be different too, so I respect their choices. Of course, I'd be thrilled if one day they say they want to come back. If they are interested in this business, of course it's good to take over, but if they have other opinions, they should follow their own hearts."

#万富    #继承传统


How to fill in Ancestral Worship Seal for Qing Ming?
Handicraft Preservation 3 mins

How to fill in Ancestral Worship Seal for Qing Ming?

The form that we need to fill up the recipient's details with is commonly known as the "ancestral worship seal". Filling it in is simple enough……

时代洪流坚守技艺——新山老字号金铺广利宣记

a time-honored gold shop in Johor Bahru


华人先辈下南洋用劳力换取生存,其中不少人更是带着一门手艺到异乡讨生活,而广肇人多投入餐饮业、机械工业与制造业、以及做工精细的打金行业。如今,在新山老街区,还留有至少四家历史悠久、由广肇人所经营的金铺。其中,广利宣记就处于新山最直最长最古老的直律街。

现年 83 岁高龄的陈志伟是广利宣记第二代传人,当年父亲为了养家从事打金行业,一门家传技艺养活了几代人,而如今他已把老店事务交由儿子陈国南打理。

询及广利宣记名字的由来,陈志伟表示:“以前父亲从前业主那里顶下这家店铺,那么父亲就延用原本的招牌名字‘广利’,加上自己的名字‘宣记’,就成为了今时今日的广利宣记。”

他也提及成为打金师傅的必备条件:“打金师傅当然是要有耐心、有毅力、信誉好,最重要还是老实。万一我们交了金给他,他带着货潜逃岂不是大件事?”

曾经辉煌的传统打金工业如今已逐渐成为夕阳行业,当中包括金价高涨、市场购买力低、机械代工舍弃手工细作等多方面因素,而更大的考验是长时间坐在闷热的工作坊,日复一日考验耐心粗活细作,更是让手工打金业接班人难寻。

陈国南从 22 岁起跟着打金老师傅学习,逐步成为父亲接班人,三十年来天天坐在闷热的工作环境,巧手制作一件件金饰。但他却不强迫儿子子承父业,以豁达开明的态度面对孩子的人生选择。

“儿子曾经问我想不想他们回马,我很坦然地告诉他们说:我不会强求他们回来,毕竟在新加坡念书生活,若回来生活模式完全不同,所接受的教育也不一样,我尊重他们的选择。当然,若有一朝,他们说要回来,那是皆大欢喜。真的对这行感兴趣,接班当然好,但如果有其他想法,就按照自己的心吧。”


#万富    #继承传统


清明节如何填写祭祖封条?
守艺传承 3分钟

清明节如何填写祭祖封条?

清明节祭品当中少不了衣箱,但如何能够顺利的让祖先收到我们的心意呢?填写祭祖封条主要是分成三个部分,分別是阳居(祭拜者:左)、阴府(逝世者:右)以及祭拜当天的日期:中。